A Cup of Tea

tumblr_mt0s265h8Y1qd477zo1_500

Chinese tea, found here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/yocca/8166992303/

Tonight I find myself wanting to write a new post, but with very little inspiration. So since I happen to be drinking a mug of hot tea, I thought I might expound a little on the virtues and traditions of tea, in case anyone cares. I may be the only one but I’m quite bored right now and at least it’ll be a little entertaining to write about.

I know for sure, that among its many other benefits, a cup of hot tea has been quite helpful to me while painting, drawing, reading, writing, studying, etc. It seems to help a person think somehow.

So according to George Orwell, I drink tea all wrong. I have a big metal teapot that I believe is sometimes used for campfires, and I fill it with water, throw in a large teabag and put in on the stove until it starts to steam. Judging by his profound respect for tea in the essay “A Nice Cup of Tea,” (found here: http://www.booksatoz.com/witsend/tea/orwell.htm) Orwell would probably be appalled at such practices. It may seem a little ludicrous to love tea to such an extent, but it is relaxing to have a cup of tea while you’re reading a book or sitting on the porch or having a nice conversation with someone.

0919032024

My tea. I’m doing it wrong.

As we know, the English have an ongoing tea tradition that is centuries old, and most of England today still seems to share Orwell’s love of tea, as do many Asian cultures, and a large number of other cultures throughout the world. Earlier I was wondering what caused this age old fascination with tea, but really I think I can understand. It’s relaxing and good for you, for starters.

British-Tea-2

British tea, found here: http://blog.freepeople.com/2012/09/love-british-high-tea/

Here is a little about tea traditions throughout the world: http://www.itoen.com/cultural-tea-traditions

And a little about the many health benefits of drinking tea: http://www.itoen.com/health-benefits-of-tea

I live in Texas, and here it’s all about the over-sweetened iced tea, but from what I’ve heard they drink a lot of hot tea up in the northern U.S. I wonder if they serve it Orwell’s way, the British way, and most likely the right way to drink tea.

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ~ C.S. Lewis (goodreads.com)

~ by Sara on September 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
