A Hanging, by George Orwell

George-Orwell-1945

Photo from http://www.guardian.co.uk

I was looking around for a good short story the other day to use in one of my teaching certification class assignments, and I came across A Hanging, by George Orwell, who is one of my favorite writers. I was really struck by this short narrative, because even though it’s a pretty famous piece, I had never read it before. I really admire the way Orwell puts the reader into his own shoes in this story, and makes you feel what he must have felt, watching a man die under such sad circumstances.

I’m not sure but from what I glean, I believe the story is a relation of an actual occurrence in Orwell’s life that happened during his service as a policeman in Burma. It’s a good, very introspective read that kind of makes you examine yourself and your own beliefs. If you want to read it you can find it here: http://www.online-literature.com/orwell/888/. It’s a very short little tale so it won’t take you much time to read, and it’s well worth the time.

“The best books… are those that tell you what you know already.” – George Orwell (brainyquote.com)

All original content copyright S.D. de la Rosa, 2013.

~ by Sara on February 27, 2013.

2 Responses to “A Hanging, by George Orwell”

  1. He is one of my favorite authors, too. I remember reading this in college, and it was a pleasure to read it again. At the beginning, he seems to question himself and the wrongness of taking a life, but at the end, he is laughing it up with his co-workers. I think they are laughing to show indifference when, in fact, they are all truly bothered about what has just occurred.

    • Yeah I thought that too. It’s like they’re trying to make themselves feel better about it, like his life was really nothing, not a big deal. It’s really sad.

Leave a Reply

 
