Becoming a Teacher

education

I started working on getting a teaching certification last week through an alternative certification program. I see it as a good way to try something new and get out of my current job, which is good but not what I want to be doing. Honestly all I really want to do is be a musician and a comic book artist (I developed these ambitions as a kid and never outgrew them) but that stuff doesn’t always pay the bills, and I want to enjoy my hobbies instead of depending on them. The program I’m working with is called iteachTexas and it will apparently allow me to start teaching right away with a probationary certificate even though I just started the program. I’ll be teaching middle or high school English and language arts, which means we’ll get to read books and write papers and stuff. It’ll be a lot of fun I think (for me, maybe not for the students). I’m qualified to teach journalism because I majored in it, but I don’t want to. I got enough of that in college.

Taking the teaching course and learning about education has actually been really interesting. I’ve had to write essays about my own experiences in grade school and high school, and it’s kind of weird digging up all those old memories, but cool at the same time. Many of my teachers were pure evil moronic turds, and others were really inspiring and helped me develop my skills and interests. I hope that when I start teaching I can be the latter. I work at a high school as a technology person, so I see students struggle every day with mean, judgmental peers and teachers, and I see the way they respond to education. It’s not good.

School is hard for kids. They fail things, get picked on, trip in the hallways and drop their books, get in trouble and embarrass themselves. School makes most kids feel like losers. It’s kind of like a setup for a difficult and disappointing life ahead instead of an inspiration to learn new things and enjoy life. Education systems stifle creativity when they’re supposed to foster it. I see so much about teaching that I want to change. When I first started trying to get certified I was just doing it because I wanted to make more money and have more free time, summers and holidays off, etc., but I’m really getting into it now. I think maybe I actually want to do this, which is unusual for me. Like I said earlier, I have other, sillier ambitions that I would rather pursue, and I will probably never stop pursuing them, but nobody said I can only be passionate about one or two things in a lifetime. It’s just that this passion kind of snuck up on me. Every job I’ve ever had has been too easy and boring. I think this one will not be.

The only person who is educated is the one who has learned how to learn and change. – Carl Rogers (brainyquote.com)

All original content copyright S.D. de la Rosa, 2013.

~ by Sara on February 1, 2013.

19 Responses to “Becoming a Teacher”

  1. Teacher (noun) – a person who helps you solve problems you’d never have without her/him.

  2. Sara, very nice! I teach in Arlington, Texas (Martin High School). Where are you, and when will you be certified? I’m always glad to meet another kindred spirit who is an artist as well as educator. Please keep me posted on how it goes with you. I loved your comments, and observations of the students, their struggles, and the often-jaded approach by teachers that has stopped feeling and understanding their trials.

    • I work at Quitman High School in Quitman, Texas as a tech person right now. They’re talking about hiring me to teach there next school year. I just started the program and I’m only on the second course but from what I understand I’ll be able to teach once I get the probationary certificate, which should be pretty soon. Thank you for your comments. I see a lot of kids around the school who hate school and make sub-par grades, and I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that many of the teachers don’t understand that teaching has to be about more than just throwing information out there.

  3. It sounds like you’re excited about the job you’re taking on, which is great to hear. Can we see your comic book art and music around these parts? Or am I just missing something obvious on this site?

    • Oh thanks. This blog is relatively new so I haven’t really posted anything like that yet. You’re right though I should post some of that stuff. I’m usually too scared to. Which is silly really, because blogs are great for that kind of thing. I’ll try to post some art or something here in the next few days. I guess it’s about time.

      • I have seen your work, and you are very good! Extremely good, in fact. Please post some pictures. By the way, would you be interested in showing some of your work this May at the Quitman Public Library, Quitman TX. Erica Fry will be showing some of her artwork, too.

  4. Good luck with your teaching! It sounds like you’re going to be a good teacher because you’re open minded and are thinking about the students’ point of view too. It’s such a cliche, but teaching really is incredibly rewarding.

    • Thanks! I hope I’ll be good one. Teaching does seem like a very rewarding profession. I wouldn’t know much about it yet but I’ve done a little tutoring and even that was a great experience. It’s really nice to able to provide a few little stepping stones to help people succeed. (I know that sounds corny but it really is a nice feeling 🙂 )

  5. Thanks fror viewing my site. I taught elementary music for 40 years—it’s the only way to go!

    • Even from the little bit of teaching I’ve done so far, I can already see it’s going to be rewarding. I bet elementary music was fun to teach. I think it would be fun to teach art too.

  6. I’m so happy for you! I know how boring and dull you’ve told me your current job has been, and I think you’ll make a great teacher. The points you made are so right-on. Education in America isn’t what it used to be. There’s a great speech that Dr. Benjamin Carson made at the National Prayer Breakfast, in which he talked about political correctness, and particularly education. You should listen to it, if you get the chance. He has a great story to tell, and after hearing the speech, I can’t wait to read his book. He grew up in poverty and became the Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at John Hopkins Hospital at age 33.

    • Cool, I’ll have to listen to it and read his book too. I want to learn everything that I can about teaching before I jump into it. Yeah my job is not very fulfilling. The only good thing about it is that I have a lot of time just sitting at my desk to work on other stuff. I’m getting a teaching certification online, learning Spanish and getting a bilingual education certification too. What’s cool is that I’ve told my colleagues what I’m doing and they support it and even want to help me get a job in this district if I want to. So it’s not like I’m sneaking around. Which is good. 🙂

      • It’s good to be well prepared, for sure. That’s what I’m so worried about, as I consider college, you know? I might graduate with a degree that I later find to be repetitive and uneventful. That’s awesome. I’d love to try learning Spanish, because quite frankly a high school class on the language does nothing for those attempting to speak it. That is a good thing! Well, I definitely would like it if you found a job in this district, so you, me, and the gang can still keep our infamous Friday nights going!

      • Haha definitely! I couldn’t move too far away. I’d miss everybody. I think most people probably don’t end up actually using the specific degree that they went to college for. I waited tables for a while and the chef at the restaurant where I worked had a degree in journalism too. It’s good just to have an education in something. Since I’ve gotten out of college I’ve started studying stuff just because I feel like it. Learning about stuff is a lot more fun and interesting when you don’t have someone grading you and telling you what to study and how to do it.

      • It’s true. Even college degrees won’t guarantee you a job, anymore. A lot of the problem is supply and demand. If you don’t try to find work in a field that has little need of your expertise, then chances are you won’t find a job. I agree. Whenever you have to be graded on something, it takes the fun out of learning about it.

  7. I have laughed at your quote, “many of my teachers were pure evil moronic turds.” Oh yes! I had a few of those, too. I think those kinds of teachers were once students of teachers who were “pure evil moronic turds” — and they take pleasure in paying it forward. The cycle must end, and it will end when there are more teachers who share your vision. I wish you every success, Sara.

Leave a Reply

 
