Why Does Southern Rock Make Us Feel So Good?

dickey betts cover atlanta

Dickey Betts’ Atlanta’s Burning Down. This album cover makes me laugh for some reason.

I realized as I was driving to go get some lunch today that few things make me feel optimistic in quite the way that southern rock does. And that’s saying a lot because I’m  a huge pessimist most of the time. That Pure Prairie League song Amy came on the radio (it’s their only song that gets played on the radio around here, I’m pretty sure) and I realized that this type of music is made to make you feel good. I remember the first time I ever heard the Allman Brothers song Blue Sky and discovered Dickey Betts. It was great. The breeze felt a little better and the sun looked a little brighter while the song was playing. I know it’s cheesy, but it’s true. I was living far away from home at that time and that song made me feel free and less lonely. It made me feel like everything was going to be okay, no matter what happened.

It makes me really appreciate bands like Molly Hatchet, Outlaws, Marshall Tucker Band, Blackfoot, and the Grateful Dead. Something about the music, the chords, the lyrics, makes you not care about the future anymore. It makes you stop worrying about your bills, or your relationships, or your rent or whether or not your life is going anywhere. It’s like for six or seven minutes it doesn’t matter anymore, and we all need a break like that every now and then. It gives you faith and helps you let go. It makes you realize that you don’t have to control everything in life, and sometimes that lesson stays with you long after the song is over.

Albums pictured:

The Allman Brothers, Eat A Peach, 1972

Blackfoot, Marauder, 1981

Blackfoot, Strikes, 1979

Grateful Dead, American Beauty, 1970

The Marshall Tucker Band, The Marshall Tucker Band, 1973

Molly Hatchet, Flirtin’ With Disaster, 1979

Outlaws, Outlaws, 1975

Pure Prairie League, Dance, 1976

Molly Hatchet, Molly Hatchet, 1978

All original content copyright S.D. de la Rosa, 2013.

~ by Sara on January 22, 2013.

4 Responses to “Why Does Southern Rock Make Us Feel So Good?”

  1. I believe they were blissfully happy to create and perform this music we now call Southern Rock. Their joy is contagious.

  2. I think “Simple Man” most literally reflects the view you’re talking about that life can be, well, simple, and if we allow ourselves to enjoy it we will. It’s definitely been an anthem for me at the times in my life when I’ve found myself making life overly complex.

    • Yeah you’re right. Sometimes songs like that can actually help you keep life simple somehow. I know they definitely help me.

Leave a Reply

 
