Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography

Photo from Amazon.com

This book is the first biography I’ve ever read, and now I want to read more of them. Glenn Hughes, the singer and bassist for such bands as Trapeze and Deep Purple, had a pretty interesting life, not unlike the lives of many other famous rock musicians of his time period. The details of cocaine addiction, bad romances and other deviance make up the hub of this book, and ultimately the reader possibly learns more about Glenn Hughes than he or she ever wanted to know. Hughes is pretty descriptive and doesn’t leave many details out.

I am a big Glenn Hughes fan and I thoroughly enjoyed the book. If you like Hughes and you’re familiar with his music you should definitely read his book and learn about some of the motives behind the songs he wrote and the stuff he was going through when he wrote them. I really like his song Seafull, so it was cool to read about the writing of it: “I was fascinated by the ocean, so I set about writing a piece called ‘Seafull’. It was haunting, from the lead guitar line to the way that I expressed myself vocally: it was the first time I sang without fear.”

Hughes had so many problems and went through so many things that he describes in this book, that as I was reading it I started really wishing he would find a way to get his life together, and I was happy to read about the part of his life that things started to get on track for him. I found myself feeling sorry for this person, and then proud of him and happy for him. I get the feeling that he held very little back in this book, and because of that it’s easy to share his feelings.

Sometimes the story skips backward and forward from the 70s to the 90s and then back again so it’s a little confusing at times, trying to figure out what happened when and what happened before and after what, but the book is laid out kind of like an interview so perhaps this really couldn’t be avoided.

There is input from several famous persons in this book, like Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne and K.K. Downing. Lars Ulrich penned the foreword. Overall it’s pretty interesting to read these peoples’ commentaries and stories if you are a fan or a music lover and you know who they are. There are stories about Gary Moore and Ronnie James Dio, and even a brief mention of Michael Schenker, one of my favorite guitar players ever.

It’s a good read. I’ve been carrying the book around in case I ever run into Glenn Hughes. I can get him to sign it for me.

“For me all the promises happen when I breathe God in and let fear out: I believe the truer one is to oneself, the more gratifying the result. The one thing I have done is to grow spiritually. I have listened, read, and learned, in order to allow God’s graces to be shown to me, in his time, not mine – after all, he is quite busy.” – Glenn Hughes,from Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography

All original content copyright S.D. de la Rosa, 2012.

~ by Sara on November 29, 2012.

8 Responses to “Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography”

  1. I read this recently and really enjoyed it too. You’re review made me want to read it again. Too many books and too little time!

Leave a Reply

 
